Zodiac Signs – Fire and Earth

Following on from my blog post about the Greek influence in the signs of the zodiac a couple of weeks ago, I’ve decided to do a short follow up looking at another two of the signs.

Aries (March 21 – April 19)

Aries is the first astrological sign, and means the ram. The constellation is in the northern hemisphere, and its symbol is a ram’s horns. King Athamas and his first wife Nephele had a boy and a girl, Phrixos and Helle. The king’s second wife, Ino, was jealous of the children and wanted them dead. She created a famine in Boeotia, and bribed the messenger that her husband sent to the oracle to report a false prophecy. This stated that Phrixos would need to be sacrificed so that the famine would end.

Against Nephele’s protests, King Athamas agreed that the youth would have to die. Zeus took pity on the boy’s mother and sent Aries, a flying ram with a golden fleece, to rescue the children. On the journey, Helle fell off its back and drowned. When Phrixos arrived safely in Colchis, he sacrificed the ram to Zeus and presented the golden fleece to King Aeetes. The king hung the fleece in a sacred spot, where it was guarded by a dragon. Even though Jason won the fleece in an impossible challenge, to prove that he was the true king of Iolcos, we can still observe it hanging in the sky. 

Those born under the Aries sign are natural leaders with the ability to take the initiative. They sometimes approach situations impulsively and possibly recklessly, but still manage to achieve their intention. Arians have very independent natures which means they attract many followers, often against their will. As Aries is the first sign of spring, those born under it tend to blossom like the season, being enthusiastic, passionate and vigorous.

Capricorn (December 22 -January 19)

Originating from the constellation of Capricornus, the tenth astrological sign of the zodiac is Capricorn. An earth sign, its symbol is the head and body of a mountain goat and the lower body of a fish (or sometimes just a goat). In Greek mythology, Pricus was the father of the race of sea-goats which were intelligent creatures that were favoured by the gods. When his children starting spending more time on the shore, they began transforming into ordinary goats that no longer possessed superior intellect. Pricus went to Cronos, and asked him to turn back time to keep his children from their fate. Even though this happened more than once, the children did not heed Pricus’ warnings and he became the only remaining sea-goat. In his overwhelming loneliness, the father of the race begged Cronos to end his life. The god took pity on him and instead turned Pricus into the constellation Capricornus so that he would remain immortal, and continues to observe his children even when they are standing on earth’s highest mountains. 

Those that rule under the Capricorn sign are ambitious and resolute, as well as being highly versatile, intelligent individuals who can thrive in normally inhospitable environments. Capricorns also have a high spiritual connection and an ability to see the good in every situation.

Don’t forget to pre-order the final book in The Guardians Series One – Infernum is coming at the end of the month. To be in with a chance of winning all five signed paperbacks from the first series enter the Goodreads Giveaway. 

Published by

Wendy Saunders - Author

I am a romantic suspense author based in Hampshire in the UK

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s